Six axed in Freddy’s major Blues overhaul

160960cf c775 4d49 beb3 ce8d348db377

New South Wales coach Brad Fittler has wielded the axe following his side's loss in the State of Origin opener, with six players from the game one squad dropped.

Panthers star Apisai Koroisau, who was a part of the game one squad, is likely to come into Fittler's 17 for game two, and is expected to be joined by the recalled Jake Trbojevic and Angus Crichton. Also included in the game two squad are the uncapped Matt Burton and Siosifa Talakai.

Raiders star Jack Wighton, who has contracted COVID-19, is Fittler's only forced change, with Reagan Campbell-Gillard, Ryan Matterson, Kotoni Staggs, Tariq Sims, Jacob Saifiti and Tyson Frizell all dropped from the original squad picked for game one.

READ MORE: Origin stars learn their fate for penalised tackles

READ MORE: 'Compromised' Origin stars backed by seething message

AS IT HAPPENED: Maroons stun Blues in game one boilover

Joseph Suaalii, Nicho Hynes, Clint Gutherson, Victor Radley and Jordan McLean are expected to be the five players in the reserve spots. Radley's selection in particular is a bold one, given he has not played for the Roosters in over a month.

Api Koroisau

Despite scoring a hat-trick in round 14 for the Bulldogs, there is still no Origin recall for Josh Addo-Carr, with Daniel Tupou once again preferred in the wing position.

"We need to pick some players who are going to win. It's all based around winning State of Origin," Fittler told 9News Sydney of his sweeping changes.

"You pick players for impact, whether they're starting or coming off the bench. At the end of the day, you want to see what sort of impact they have on the biggest stage."

Game two of the 2022 State of Origin series will take place at Perth's Optus Stadium on Sunday, June 26, with New South Wales needing a win to keep the series alive.


Matt Burton (Canterbury Bulldogs), Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers), Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Angus Crichton (Sydney Roosters), Stephen Crichton (Penrith Panthers), Clint Gutherson (Parramatta Eels), Payne Haas (Brisbane Broncos), Nicho Hynes (Cronulla Sharks), Apisai Koroisau (Penrith Panthers), Jarome Luai (Penrith Panthers), Liam Martin (Penrith Panthers), Jordan McLean (North Queensland Cowboys), Cameron Murray (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Junior Paulo (Parramatta Eels), Victor Radley (Sydney Roosters), Joseph Suaalii (Sydney Roosters), Siosifa Talakai (Cronulla Sharks), James Tedesco (c) (Sydney Roosters), Brian To'o (Penrith Panthers), Jake Trbojevic (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles), Daniel Tupou (Sydney Roosters), Isaah Yeo (Penrith Panthers)

Koroisau to join NSW Blues team


Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Parramatta Eels), Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers), Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Stephen Crichton (Penrith Panthers), Tyson Frizell (Newcastle Knights), Payne Haas (Brisbane Broncos), Nicho Hynes (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks), Apisai Koroisau (Penrith Panthers), Jarome Luai (Penrith Panthers), Junior Paulo (Parramatta Eels), Liam Martin (Penrith Panthers), Ryan Matterson (Parramatta Eels), Cameron Murray (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Jacob Saifiti (Newcastle Knights), Tariq Sims (St George Illawarra Dragons), Kotoni Staggs (Brisbane Broncos), Joseph Suaalii (Sydney Roosters), James Tedesco (c) (Sydney Roosters), Brian To'o (Penrith Panthers), Daniel Tupou (Sydney Roosters), Jack Wighton (Canberra Raiders), Isaah Yeo (Penrith Panthers)

For a daily dose of the best of the breaking news and exclusive content from Wide World of Sports, subscribe to our newsletter by clicking here!

You May Also Like